2018 Spring Lecture Series

Lecture Series History /Podcast

Thursday, January 25
Introduction to the Asian Development Bank
Bart Édes (Asian Development Bank)
Time: Noon – 1:oo PM
Location: 206 Ingraham Hall

Thursday, February 1
Vinay Dharwadker (Professor, Comparative Literature and Folklore, UW-Madison) & Welcome Lunch
Time: Noon – 1:oo PM
Location: 206 Ingraham Hall

Thursday, February 8
“Fleeting Access: Racialized and Class Exclusion through Higher Education Enrollment Management”
Prabhdeep Kehal (Graduate Fellow, Sociology, Brown University)
Time: Noon – 1:oo PM
Location: 206 Ingraham Hall

Thursday, February 15
“There’s Nothing Naive About Teasing Eve: Sexual Harassment Culture in North India”
Lalita du Perron (Associate Director, Center for South Asia, UW-Madison)
Time: Noon – 1:oo PM
Location: 206 Ingraham Hall

Thursday, February 22
Rumya Putcha (Assistant Professor, Performance Studies, Texas A&M University)
Time: Noon – 1:oo PM
Location: 206 Ingraham Hall

Thursday, March 1
“Illicit Sex in a ‘Globalizing’ World: Gender, Mobility, and Law in Eighteenth-Century Marwar”
Divya Cherian (Assistant Professor, History, Princeton University)
Time: Noon – 1:oo PM
Location: 206 Ingraham Hall

Thursday, March 8
Gareth Nellis (Post-Doctoral Fellow, Politics, UC-Berkeley)
Time: Noon – 1:oo PM
Location: 206 Ingraham Hall

Thursday, March 15
“Crowdsourcing Oral Histories: A New Approach to Public History and Gathering Data”
Dr. Guneeta Singh Bhalla (Founder and Executive Director, The 1947 Partition Archive)
Time: Noon – 1:oo PM
Location: 206 Ingraham Hall

Thursday, April 5
Andrew Amstutz (Post-Doctoral Fellow, Institute for Research in the Humanities, UW-Madison)
Time: Noon – 1:oo PM
Location: 206 Ingraham Hall

Thursday, April 12
“Power Play in the Formation of the Sikh Canon”
Pashaura Singh (Professor, Sikh and Punjabi Studies, University of California, Riverside)
Time: Noon – 1:oo PM
Location: 206 Ingraham Hall

Thursday, April 19
Rini Bhattacharya Mehta (Assistant Professor, Comparative and World Literatures, University of Illinois)
Time: Noon – 1:oo PM
Location: 206 Ingraham Hall

Thursday, April 26
“A Garland of Songs: Radio Ceylon and the Making of a Hindi Film Audience”
Isabel Huacuja Alonso (Assistant Professor, History, California State University, San Bernardino)
Time: Noon – 1:oo PM
Location: 206 Ingraham Hall

Thursday, May 3
End of Semester Lunch
Time: Noon – 1:oo PM
Location: 206 Ingraham Hall